Confessions of two roommates and the Snapchat app.

It is an app that I thought would never become popular. An app that has people taking selfies or random photos of their food or dogs or anything at all. An app that gives everyone a little 10 second glimpse into your life. Of course I am talking about the new and extremely popular app Snapchat.

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-3-42-08-pm

 

 

 

 

According to Chris Snider, a digital media professor at Iowa, as of August 26, 2016, “Snapchat is on pace for 217 million users by end of 2017.” You can look at how this amount to compares other social media sites here: http://chrissniderdesign.com/blog/resources/social-media-statistics/

My personal experience with this app has been kind of like a roller coaster ride. I got it when it was less popular around 4 years ago and I quickly became obsessed. I would snapchat my friends more than I would text or call them. It was getting to be too much. I eventually convinced myself to delete my account and give it a rest. However, about a year later I got sucked right back into being a Snapchat addict. Again, after about six months I decided to get rid of the app on my phone so my usage would come to a stop. This time, though, I did not fully delete my account as I did before. You can only guess what happened after some time passed and a large amount of friends pushed me to get it back…Yup, I got the app back. There is just something about being able to take a quick selfie, a short video of your dog rolling around on the ground, or sending ridiculous filters to your friends that makes you feel a bit more connected to them than just a text.

I got the idea for this blog when I found myself sitting in my 2-person apartment one night with my roommate and we were going back and forth sending filtered selfies to each other and laughing very hard at each one. All I could think after was that we were in the same room. No, this isn’t as bad as texting in the same room or house, which I do occasionally, but still.. in the same room. This all ties into my thoughts of how much social media is constantly molding our interactions with other people.

On another note about this app, I have noticed that it too, like most of social media lately, has become a new and interesting source to receive news and updates. These could be updates about what is happening on our campus or news on a hurricane’s aftermath in southern Georgia. There is a vast amount of information within this app now, which I think I am beginning to enjoy. I like the creative presentation they have when relaying their news stories as well as the various topics you can chose from.

Screen Shot 2016-09-12 at 4.05.55 PM.png

All in all, Snapchat is growing quickly. More and more people are downloading it everyday. The company is even starting to look into alternate ideas to keep this expansion going. I recently read an article by blogger Ann Handley and she discusses the idea of Snapchat looking into creating their own magazine. Yes, a magazine! Is going from a screen to print a smart move for the business? Handley talks about this as well as other pros and cons of the option throughout her article. You can read it here: http://www.annhandley.com/2016/06/27/snapchat-launching-tech-magazine/

Let me know your thoughts about the app. How do you think it is changing our communication with people? Do you use it as a news source? And do you think going into the print business would be smart? Comment below.

6 thoughts on “Confessions of two roommates and the Snapchat app.

  1. I have also fallen into the endless loop of Snapchat and been addicted to it at certain periods of time. I am all about keeping up Snap streaks with my friends. I agree with you that it is a bit pitiful that friends in the same room choose to interact over Snapchat than in person. Snapchat has definitely become a prominent social media channel for Millennials and is often the first place we hear news (thank you Snap stories). It has been really cool to see how this app has evolved over time.

    Like

  2. I actually had a very similar experience to adopting Snapchat! I downloaded it in high school four or so years ago, but never really used it. It wasn’t until I got to college did I start using it again. And it’s so weird how prevalent Snapchat has become to me when it comes to talking to my friends- I have friends that will only respond if you send them a snap. Not texts, but a snap. I use Twitter way more as a newsource. Even Snapchat’s ‘news’ can be stale. By the time I see it in a story, I’ve already read about a day or more of coverage.

    I also looked at the magazine thing Snapchat is doing. And correct me if I’m wrong, but I think it’s a digital mag? If it’s print, then I’m not sure it’s a great idea. Subscriptions to all print magazines have been down ever since smartphones became a thing. But a digital magazine targeted to an older audience that Millennials is an interesting take. For starters, it would allow Snapchat to reach & advertise to a whole other age group, and influence them. Pretty interesting stuff! Who would have thunk an app once related to teens sexting one another would become one of the most sought after advertising tools?

    Like

  3. Snapchat is becoming more and more popular. It seems there is something new going on with it everyday! I think the biggest success they had was when they brought snap chat stories into the app. With the news feature now, people don’t need to go elsewhere. If you want to see highlights of a sports game, you can just go to snapchat now. The geofilters and the selfie filters were great additions as well. I think what keeps snapchat relevant is that they are always innovating and bringing in something new.

    Like

  4. Yes I think I used to be a snapchat addict. It’s really interesting to see how Snapchat is developing as time goes on. They are adding more features to the app so people can spend more time on. It is still private (because you are communicating with your friends). Now it’s also a marketing hub for the businesses. Users don’t really ‘like’ the businesses and all the contents that are on snapchat but just like the snapchat intended to do; it’s a magazine. But it’s a cool magazine. I think they keep the original way of using this app (people snapping where they are and what they are doing without all the paid marketing stuffs).Users are just exposed to the contents that are on snapchat and i’m sure more and more businesses are willing to “pay” to be on snapchat.

    Like

  5. I totally think Snapchat is such a weird and interesting app. It seems obvious that duh, we should have an app that allows you to take pictures and then have them disappear, but yet only two guys from Stanford figured that out. And now they’re millionaires. I wish Georgia could utilize Snapchat a little bit more to give us updates and let us know what events are going on around campus!

    Like

  6. Having it as print media would be weird, but I won’t knock it till I see it. In terms of utilizing the platform to get the news, I am not too much of a fan but that may be because it’s not my preferred social media platform. I have to be on FB for my work a lot so I usually get the news from there and like how it links to so many resources about a certain news topic. Maybe I’ll give it a shot since I love visuals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

