REI’s #OptOutside posts are taking over and I #loveit

As an outdoors enthusiast, nothing makes me happier than seeing my newsfeed full of pictures of nature posted either by friends or companies I follow. It warms my heart to see people in love with nature, which is why I have been ecstatic by REI’s social media movement. They gave it the title a few years ago, “#OptOutside.” REI’s goal is to get people out of the mall and into nature for Black Friday. It has been growing and as every year passes I see more and more posts on Black Friday promoting this movement.

Don’t get me wrong, I have been there at the mall doors at 5 am with no sleep and waiting for the employees to unlock the doors. I have been apart of the rush to get the ‘best’ deals of the year. I put the word best in quotes because every time I seem to be so disappointed with what I end up finding at the stores. ‘Best’ deals of the year… yeah right. These few disappointing experiences have made me dislike the idea of Black Friday quite a bit.

That being said, the past few years I have been trying to lean towards this idea that REI has been promoting. This year more than all the others they have taken social media by storm, especially promoting the movement through their own site. Just look, they even changed their company’s Facebook cover page:

Screen Shot 2016-11-06 at 6.31.04 PM.png

This along with other posts like the one I shared the other day that you can see below have taken over my Facebook and I personally LOVE IT. Even if I wasn’t an outdoorsy person, I feel like what the company is pushing for is such an authentic movement that it has set them apart from competitors for sure. Their use of a catchy hashtag and making this something you can see on all their social media platforms is a genius marketing tactic.

I am so excited to see how many people on my own Facebook page post pictures on Black Friday that show them out and about in nature and not shopping. I can definitely see this #OptOutside movement turn into something incredible for not only the company, but for people all over. People get to enjoy the outdoors while the company gains recognition for the movement. Definitely a win-win situation 🙂

So are you going to #OptOutside this Black Friday? Comment below with your thoughts of this movement by REI!

 

(Here is the post I shared…)

Screen Shot 2016-11-06 at 6.30.46 PM.png

Leave a Reply

